2014 Conference Information

New: Continuing Education Units Finalized for Substance Abuse, Mental Health, Peer Support, and Problem Gambling.

Conference Program Finalized
Schedule and CEUs Announced

High-res version (18.3MB)

Please Join Us at the 2014 Conference by Registering Today!

The 2014 conference will provide a wide array of beneficial learning opportunities for everyone who attends.

Providers, legislators, consumers, veterans, family members, and others interested in wellness and recovery for persons experiencing behavioral health issues will be in attendance at the annual conference.

Keynote speakers and conference workshops will address substance use disorders and other mental health topics, and will include Provider Management and Clinical tracks.

Topics to receive special attention will include: collaboration and integration of services, evidence-based practices, trauma and trauma-informed care, and criminal justice, including prison re-entry.

Conference planners are building on the success of last year’s conference, which was attended by about 500 people.

Marking the 10-Year Anniversary of LB1083

The year 2014 marks the 10-year anniversary of the passage of LB1083, the Behavioral Health Reform Act in Nebraska. The legislation was intended to reform Nebraska’s behavioral health services by moving from institutionalized settings, such as the state-run Regional Centers, to community-based services. The conference will note the accomplishments in behavioral health care since the passage of this landmark bill.

Keynote Speakers and Times Announced

Keynote speakers for the 2014 conference:

  • Dan Abreu, Associate Director, National GAINS Center. In this position he provides technical assistance to communities and states concerning collaboration between mental health and criminal justice. He assists the director in the planning and development of meetings to address justice for people with mental illness.
  • Laura Howard, JD, serves as the Region VII Regional Administrator for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Region VII comprises of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.
  • Ann Jennings, Consultant on Trauma Issues. She has been involved for over 20 years in raising public awareness about and bringing needed change in the treatment of people with sexual and physical abuse trauma.
  • Robert Whitaker, Investigative Journalist and Author. In his most recent book, Anatomy of an Epidemic: Magic Bullets, Psychiatric Drugs, and the Astonishing Rise of Mental Illness in America, Mr. Whitaker addresses the research he has compiled that he says proves the overuse of medications in the treatment of mental illness.
  • Destenie Commuso, Certified Peer Support and Wellness Specialist. Destenie will share her personal trauma experiences with mental health/substance abuse and explain how working as a Peer Specialist has changed her life and why she feels that Peer Support is important to the Behavioral Health system.

See the Speakers page for more information.

For additional information, contact:

Mental Health Association of Nebraska
Pat Talbott, Conference Coordinator
(402) 441-4373


Visit us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/NEBHC and on Twitter at: twitter.com/NEBHC

Featured Sponsors

DHHS_logoKim Foundation